Chemistry (NTSE/Olympiad)  

4. Structure Of Atoms

Electron Distribution

The distribution of electrons in different orbits or shells is governed by a scheme known as Bohr bury scheme. The arrangement of electrons in various energy levels of an atom is known as the electronic configuration of the atom. According to this scheme.
The electrons are arranged around the nucleus in different energy levels or energy shells. The electrons first occupy the shell with the lowest energy i.e., closest to the nucleus.
The first or the innermost energy shell (K or n = 1) can take only two electrons.
The second shell (L or n = 2) can contain upto 8 electrons.
From third shell (M or n = 3) onwards, the shells become bigger. The third shell can accommodate as many as 18 electrons. In general, the maximum number of electrons that can be present in any shell is 2n2 where n is the number of energy shell. Thus, the first orbit (n = 1, known as K shell) can contain
2 × 12 = 2 electrons, the second orbit (n = 2, known as L shell) can contain 2 × 22 = 8 electrons.
Maximum No. of electrons in different orbits
Orbit Values of n Maximum no. of electrons in the orbit
K 1 2 × 12 = 2
L 2 2 × 2 2 = 8
M 3 2 × 32 = 18
N 4 2 × 42 = 32

The outermost shell of an atom cannot have more than 8 electrons and the shell next to the outermost shell cannot have more than 18 electrons.

If you want to give information about online courses to other students, then share it with more and more on Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus. The more the shares will be, the more students will benefit. The share buttons are given below for your convenience.

NTSE Chemistry (Class X)

NTSE Chemistry (Class IX)


NTSE Physics Course (Class 9 & 10)

NTSE Chemistry Course (Class 9 & 10)

NTSE Geography Course (Class 9 & 10)

NTSE Biology Course (Class 9 & 10)

NTSE Democratic Politics Course (Class 9 & 10)

NTSE Economics Course (Class 9 & 10)

NTSE History Course (Class 9 & 10)

NTSE Mathematics Course (Class 9 & 10)